Go Back   Polykarbon Art Forum > GALLERY > Sketchbooks
Register FAQ Members List Arcade IRC Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-17-2008, 04:00 PM   #1
BlackenedEyes
Karbonite

Default BlackenedEyes first sketches

hey i am completely new to this but here are some basic sketches of anime heads. please comment on them. i think i need a better pencil though.

with realism in mind 2008-05-18

and some more this time with shade 2008-05-19

your right i need to look more at anatomy, and i could just not get the foot right. 2008-05-20

in middle of exams but i try to draw everday, i had maths today :(

2008-05-21

2008-05-25

2008-05-26

Last edited by BlackenedEyes : 05-26-2008 at 03:41 PM.
BlackenedEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 04:36 PM   #2
BlackenedEyes
Karbonite

Thanks. starting down the realism path, i drew these today. I think there of a better quality. one is from my imagination(the one with the small head/weird jaw) and the other from a school picture of me, it did not look like me at all hehe.

the tool thing is what i am using to sharpen my pencil :O.. i need a sharpener

Last edited by BlackenedEyes : 05-18-2008 at 03:00 PM. Reason: updated
BlackenedEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 07:54 PM   #3
mercenary
Psych Ward

Welcome to Polykarbon.
What you need to do is put the anime on hold and focus on realism. One reason being is that anime is a style. Starting out with stylized art isn't the greatest move on the board. Because you'll become molded and stuck to one way of drawing and it will be difficult to learn other styles and approaches.
So start with the basics. Which are shapes, which are the basic building blocks for whatever you draw. Then anatomy, learn and study how the body works, moves, and maintains balance. Study your surroundings, color, lighting, prespective, people, things, etc. Use references, like magazines. Study other artist. It is preferable to study the artist who have a realistic style.